About

in lieu of preschool

I’ve been a stay at home mom for 5 years now, as of February 2013, and I love it!  I have two children, Luke and Lilah, who are the light of my life!  They are 18 months apart in age; Luke turned 5 in February and Lilah will be 4 in August.

Before Luke was born, I taught 5th grade for 5 years as a Reading/Language Arts and Social Studies teacher.  Then I taught as a Title I Reading specialist working with struggling readers and writers in grades K-5 for 2 years.  I have a bachelor’s degree in Elementary Education K-6 with a concentration in English, and a master’s degree in Reading Education K-12.  I also earned National Board Certification in Literacy: Reading-Language Arts/Early and Middle Childhood.

Throughout my life I have found myself working in childcare and teaching roles.  It seems I naturally gravitate towards those types of positions.  I spent several summers as a preteen and teen doing M-F babysitting jobs.  I taught Children’s Church and Sunday School as a teenager.  During college, I worked part-time for 2 years in the one-year-old class at a preschool and subbed in other classes on days I didn’t have college classes.  I also cared for a little boy while in college for 2 years as a nanny.  As an adult, I have taught Sunday School, and I’ve tutored off and on for the past 3 years (3rd-7th graders in reading and writing).

I thoroughly enjoy working with kids and watching them grow.  I feel so blessed to be able to stay at home with L&L while they are young.  I hope some of what we do will inspire you! :)

You can also visit In Lieu of Preschool’s sister site: Parent Teach Play.

********************

Follow In Lieu of Preschool:

********************

Media/PR Info:

If you are interested in advertising on my blog or working together in any way, please email me at inlieuofpreschool@gmail.com for more information.


This post may contain affiliate links.